The Godolphin Stud and Stable Staff Awards were first held in 2005 to celebrate those working in racing.  In partnership with the Racing Post and with the generous sponsorship of Godolphin, the awards are organised by BHA and offer prize money of £120,000.

Nominations are closed for the 11th annual Godolphin Stud and Stable Staff Awards, with £120,000 in prize money to be awarded to some of the most dedicated staff in the industry. This year’s winners will receive their prizes during an evening ceremony held before an invited audience at the Jumeirah Carlton Towers hotel in Knightsbridge, London on Monday 23 February 2015.

In order to continue to improve the Awards, this year sees revisions to the judging process. The judging panel will increase from six to 12 judges, providing a greater range of backgrounds, experience and locations. All nominations will be now be independently reference checked before going to the panel of judges and every verified nomination will be reviewed by members of the judging panel. The nomination period was also extended, to give Flat and National Hunt trainers as well as Stud Managers more time to nominate in what can be a busy time of year. Every nominee will receive a signed certificate in recognition of their 2015 nomination and the three Rider/Groom finalists will receive a stable visit from a member of the judging Panel.

The Awards, sponsored by Godolphin and run by the British Horseracing Authority (BHA) in association with the Racing Post, are divided into the following categories:

Leadership Award

For those managing two or more staff who have displayed leadership qualities amongst their colleagues, a desire to succeed in the industry and strong mentoring skills that have been to the benefit of those around them.

Rider/Groom Award

For those who have shown talent for horsemanship, consistency and reliability in and out of the saddle.

Stud Staff Award

This Award is for those who have shown expertise, dedication and reliability, excellent horsemanship, adaptability and teamwork, while employed within a stud.

Dedication to Racing Award

For a member of staff who has served a minimum of ten years in the industry, is an integral part of the team, offers a wealth of industry experience and knowledge and a love and dedication of their job.

David Nicholson Newcomer Award

For those who have displayed a desire to improve, have progressed their skills and knowledge and become an integral part of the team while employed in the industry for less than three years.

Administration Staff Award

For a member of staff whose role is either specifically administrative in nature, or who has extensive responsibilities in these areas.


The winner of each of the first four categories will receive a prize of £5,000 with an additional £5,000 also being awarded to the winner’s yard or stud. Two runners-up in each of these categories will win £2,000 each, with the same amount going to their yard or stud.

The winner of the David Nicholson Newcomer Award will receive £2,000, with the same amount going to their yard or stud, while two runners-up will receive £1,000 each, with the same amount for their yard. The winner of the Administration Staff Award will win £5,000, with £5,000 to their yard or stud. There are no runner-up prizes for the Administration Staff Award.

The Awards will also recognise an Employee of the Year, who will be selected from the winners of the first four categories. That winner will receive an additional prize of £15,000, with the same amount going to their yard or stud.


For any questions email